The 30th Moscow International Film Festival

 

The Moscow International Film Festival (MIFF) is one of the oldest in the world. It was first held all the way back in 1935, and the panel was chaired by the legendary Sergei Eisenstein himself. The unbroken history of MIFF dates back to 1959, when the festival became an annual event.

The recent rise of modern Russian cinema gave MIFF a stable position among the world’s top film festivals, on a par with some of the most celebrated international film events. Today, the world’s largest film producers seek to arrange their premieres at the Russian festival.

Every year, the festival gathers the best-known filmmakers, journalists and critics from around the world, and the number of journalists seeking accreditation for the festival is progressively growing.

In 2008, the Art, Science and Sport Charity Foundation sponsored the 30th anniversary of the Moscow International Film Festival.

That year, the festival premiered a superhero blockbuster, Hancock, starring Will Smith, which was shown in the US a fortnight after it was in Russia.

The anniversary festival was attended by numerous guests of honour, such as the Japanese director and actor Takeshi Kitano, French actress, Isabelle Huppert, filmmakers, Peter Greenaway and Emir Kusturica, the MIFF veterans Krzysztof Zanussi and Istvan Szabo, the French star Mylene Demongeot, and many others.

The panel of the 30th Moscow International Film Festival was headed by the outstanding actress and director, Liv Ullmann, whose name by now is almost synonymous with the works of the great Swedish film director, Ingmar Bergman.

30-й Московский Международный кинофестиваль

 

Московский Международный кинофестиваль (ММКФ) – один из старейших в мире, впервые он состоялся в 1935 году, и жюри на нем возглавлял сам Сергей Эйзенштейн, однако свою хронологию ММКФ ведет с 1959 года, когда фестиваль стал проводиться регулярно.

Расцвет российского кино в последние годы обеспечил ММКФ стабильное положение в мировом фестивальном движении среди киносмотров класса «А», куда входят международные кинофестивали наиболее развитых кинодержав мира. Сегодня крупнейшие мировые кинокорпорации стремятся устраивать премьеры именно в России.

Ежегодно на фестиваль собираются известные кинематографисты, журналисты, кинокритики из разных стран мира, а количество аккредитованных на фестивале журналистов постоянно растет.

В 2008 году Благотворительный фонд «Искусство, наука и спорт» поддержал проведение юбилейного 30-го ММКФ.

Фестиваль открылся фильмом «Хенкок», премьера которого в США состоялась только через две недели после российской.

Почетными гостями юбилейного кинофестиваля стали японский режиссер и актер Такеси Китано, французская актриса Изабель Юппер, кинорежиссеры Питер Гринуэй и Эмир Кустурица, ветераны Московского кинофестиваля Кшиштоф Занусси и Иштван Сабо, звезда французского кино Милен Демонжо и многие другие.

Жюри 30-го ММКФ возглавила выдающаяся актриса и режиссер Лив Ульман, чье имя неразрывно связано с творчеством великого шведского кинорежиссера Ингмара Бергмана.