The James Whistler and Russia exhibition

 

The James Whistler and Russia exhibition was held at the State Tretyakov Gallery between December 8, 2006 and February 15, 2007 with the support of the Art, Science and Sport Charity Foundation. It became a key event in the course of the museum’s 150th anniversary celebrations.

James Abbott McNeill Whistler was an American-born, British-based artist, one of the key predecessors of impressionism and symbolism. From 1843 to 1848 he lived in St. Petersburg where his first exposure to fine arts took place. He went on to maintain a close connection to Russian culture for the rest of his life. Mr. Whistler called Russia the “cradle” of his talent.

Exhibits from more than twenty museums as well as private collections from the UK and the United States, were presented at the James Whistler and Russia exhibition, many shown in Moscow for the first time. The exhibition was designed to reveal to the audience the special role Russia played in the artist’s life. The public in Moscow were able to see his famous “Harmony in Grey and Green: Miss Cicely Alexander” brought over from the Tate Gallery in London, “Arrangement in Gray and Black, No. 2: Portrait of Thomas Carlyle” delivered to Russia from the Art Collection of the Glasgow City Council as well as “Arrangement in Black No. 2: Portrait of Mrs. Louise Huth”, “Harmony in Brown: The Felt Hat”, “Arrangement in Black No 3: Sir Henry Irving as Philip II of Spain”, others of the artist’s paintings and graphic masterpieces, including several lesser-known sketches, are now kept in the Hermitage and the Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts.

The section headed, “The Whistler Family in Russia” was devoted to the years spent by the future artist and his family in St. Petersburg and contained memorable exhibits, photographs, and views of St. Petersburg and its neighbourhoods.

A special part of the exhibition was occupied by works of Russian artists whose creative work a young James Whistler got acquainted with while in Russia and which had a particularly strong impact on the future master. So paintings by M.N.Vorobyov, Ivan Aivazovsky, and K.P. Bryullov were also presented at the James Whistler and Russia exhibition.

Being one of the leading cosmopolitan aesthetes of the late 19th century, by the early 20th century James Whistler was widely recognized in Russia as a bright public figure in fine arts, as well as a reformer of book, interior and exhibition designs.

The impact of James Whistler’s creative work on Russian artists at the turn of the 20th century was reflected in the exhibition’s section “James Whistler and Russian artists” where paintings by K. Korovin, I. I. Levitan, V. Serov, I. E. Repin, and A. Ostroumova-Lebedeva, a Russian student of the artist were exhibited.

The James Whistler and Russia exhibition was a continuation of the century-old history of close relationships between the artist and the Russian public, which was initiated with the first exposition organized by Sergei Diaghilev in distant 1897-1899. In 1958 some paintings by James Whistler were shown in the Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts at an exhibition of works transported to the USSR during the Great Patriotic War. And in 1960, four paintings by the artist were included in the exhibition “Painting in the UK: 1700-1960”.

The James Whistler and Russia exhibition was attended by about 200,000 visitors.

An exhibition album-catalogue of the same name was made specially for the event in both Russian and English.

Выставка «Уистлер и Россия»

 

С 8 декабря 2006 по 15 февраля 2007 года при поддержке Благотворительного фонда «Искусство, наука и спорт» в Государственной Третьяковской галерее прошла выставка «Уистлер и Россия», ставшая ключевым событием празднования 150-летия музея.

Джеймс Уистлер — англо-американский художник, один из ключевых предшественников импрессионизма и символизма, с 1843 по 1848 год провел в Санкт-Петербурге, где произошло его первое знакомство с изобразительным искусством. Оставаясь на протяжении всей жизни в неразрывной связи с русской культурой, Уистлер называл Россию «колыбелью» своего таланта.

На выставке «Уистлер и Россия», призванной раскрыть перед зрителем особую роль России в жизни художника, были представлены экспонаты из более чем двадцати музеев, а также частных коллекций Великобритании и США, многие из которых были показаны в Москве впервые. Из произведений самого Уистлера публика смогла увидеть знаменитые «Гармонию в сером и зеленом: мисс Сисeли Александер», привезенную из лондонской Галереи Тейт, «Аранжировки в сером и черном, № 2. Портрет Томаса Карлайла», доставленную в Россию из Художественного собрания Городского Совета Глазго, а также «Аранжировку в черном № 2: портрет миссис Луизы Хут», «Гармонию в коричневом: фетровая шляпка», «Аранжировку в черном № 3: сэр Генри Ирвинг в образе Филиппа II Испанского», другие шедевры живописи и графики художника, а также несколько малоизвестных этюдов, хранящихся ныне в Эрмитаже и ГМИИ им. А. С. Пушкина.

Раздел выставки «Семья Уистлеров в России» был посвящен годам, проведённым будущим художником и его семьей в Санкт-Петербурге и содержал мемориальные экспонаты, фотографии, виды Петербурга и его окрестностей.

Особую часть экспозиции заняли произведения русских художников, с творчеством которых молодой Джеймс Уистлер познакомился в России, и которые произвели на будущего мастера особо сильное впечатление. Так на выставке «Уистлер и Россия» были представлены работы М.Н.Воробьева, И.К.Айвазовского, К.П.Брюллова.

Один из ведущих космополитических эстетов конца XIX века, яркий общественный деятель изобразительного искусства, реформатор книжного, интерьерного и выставочного дизайна, Джеймс Уистлер был широко признан в России в начале XX века.

Влияние творчества Уистлера на русских художников рубежа XIX-XX нашло отражение в разделе выставке «Уистлер и русские художники», где экспонировались полотна К. Коровина, И.И.Левитана, В.Серова, И.Е.Репина и русской ученицы художника А. Остроумовой-Лебедевой.

Выставка «Уистлер и Россия» — продолжение вековой истории тесной связи творчества художника и русской публики, начало которой было положено в далеких 1897-1899 годах первой экспозицией, организованной Сергеем Дягилевым. В 1958 году в ГМИИ им. А.С.Пушкина работы Уистлера были показаны в рамках выставки произведений, перевезенных во время Великой Отечественной войны в СССР, а в 1960-м четыре картины художника вошли в состав экспозиции «Живопись Великобритании. 1700-1960».

Выставку «Уистлер и Россия» посетили около 200 тысяч человек.

К выставке был приурочен выпуск одноименного альбома-каталога на русском и английском языках.