The Golden Mask National Theatre Award and Theatre Festival

 

The Golden Mask is a National Theatre Award, established in 1993 by the Theatre Union of the Russian Federation. The first Award Ceremony and Festival took place in 1995.

The Golden Mask Award is given to productions in all genres of theatrical art: drama, opera, ballet, modern dance, operetta, musical, and puppet theatre. The Golden Mask is also a National Theatre Festival that takes place in Moscow in the spring of each year, demonstrating the most significant Russian premiers of the previous season.

The Golden Mask National Theatre Award and Festival is organised and supported by the Theatre Union of the Russian Federation, the Russian Ministry of Culture, the Moscow Government, and the Administration of the Golden Mask Festival.

Expert committees, composed of theater critics choose the Festival’s performances and the nominees for the Golden Mask. The panel that decides who wins the Golden Mask is made up of actors, directors, conductors, choreographers, and stage designers.

The Golden Mask National Theatre Festival is a major forum, representing a full and objective picture of Russian theatrical life to industry professionals and the general public. Every year, the Festival stages over 100 productions from across the entire country.

Every year, the Festival and its projects manage to attract tens of thousands of spectators and enjoy widespread, favourable coverage in the printed and broadcasting media.

The Festival culminates in the official Golden Mask Awards Ceremony.

The Art, Science and Sport Charity Foundation has been a long-standing supporter of the Festival and its Awards Ceremony.

In 2014, the Golden Mask was held for the 20th time. An Anniversary Evening took place on International Theatre Day (March 27) at the famous Moscow Evgeniy Vakhtangov Theatre. The 20th anniversary was celebrated with a dedicated production, recreating the twenty years of the Golden Mask and twenty years of the new Russian theatre. The Golden Mask Anniversary Evening was supported by the Art, Science and Sport Charity Foundation.

In 2015 the Art, Science and Sport Charity Foundation supported the Mask Plus non-competitive play program which complements the Golden Mask Festival’s main competition, characterised by a specific format and strict selection criteria. The program includes Russian plays recommended by experts, as well as plays from the CIS, Baltic States and Europe.

In 2016, the Golden Mask Festival became a partner of the children’s New Year’s event programme organised by the Art, Science and Sport Charity Foundation. Thanks to the partnership, young spectators from the Moscow, Kursk, and Belgorod regions were able to see performances by the St. Petersburg Puppet Doll’s House Theatre and the Novosibirsk Academic Youth Globus Theatre.

Photo

Российская Национальная театральная Премия и Фестиваль «Золотая Маска»

 

Учреждена в 1993 году Союзом театральных деятелей РФ, первое вручение Премии состоялось в 1995 году.

Премия «Золотая Маска» вручается спектаклям всех жанров театрального искусства: драма, опера, балет, современный танец, оперетта и мюзикл, театр кукол. «Золотая Маска» — театральный Фестиваль, весной каждого года представляющий в Москве наиболее значительные спектакли из городов России.

Организаторы Национальной театральной Премии и Фестиваля «Золотая Маска» — Союз театральных деятелей РФ, Министерство культуры РФ, Правительство Москвы, Дирекция Фестиваля «Золотая Маска».

Отбор спектаклей-участников Фестиваля и претендентов на Премию «Золотая Маска» осуществляют Экспертные советы, в состав которых входят театральные критики. В Жюри «Золотой Маски» работают актеры, режиссеры, дирижеры, хореографы, театральные художники.

Фестиваль спектаклей, выдвинутых на соискание Премии «Золотая Маска» — это масштабный форум, который представляет профессиональной общественности и широкому зрителю максимально полную и объективную картину российской театральной жизни. В рамках Фестиваля «Золотая Маска» проходят более 100 показов спектаклей из десятков городов страны.

Спектакли Фестиваля «Золотая Маска» и его проектов ежегодно собирают десятки тысяч зрителей и получают самое широкое освещение в СМИ: сотни публикаций в печатных изданиях и телевизионных сюжетов и репортажей.

Кульминация Фестиваля — Торжественная Церемония вручения Премии «Золотая Маска».

Благотворительный фонд «Искусство, наука и спорт» неоднократно оказывал помощь в организации Фестиваля и Торжественной Церемонии вручения Премии «Золотая Маска».

В 2014 году «Золотая Маска» отпраздновала 20-летие. Особым событием стал Юбилейный вечер, который прошел в Международный День театра 27 марта 2014 на сцене Театра им. Евг. Вахтангова. Специально для этого дня был создан настоящий спектакль, который позволил прожить двадцать лет «Золотой Маски» и двадцать лет нового российского театра. Юбилейный вечер «Золотой Маски» прошел при поддержке Благотворительного фонда «Искусство, наука и спорт».

В 2015 году Благотворительный фонд «Искусство, наука и спорт» поддержал внеконкурсную программу спектаклей «Маска Плюс», которая дополняет основную, конкурсную программу Фестиваля «Золотая Маска» с ее определенным форматом и строгими принципами отбора. В афише участвуют российские спектакли, рекомендованные экспертами, а также спектакли из стран СНГ, Балтии, Европы.

В 2016 году Фестиваль «Золотая Маска» выступил партнером программы детских новогодних мероприятий, реализуемой Благотворительным фондом «Искусство, наука и спорт». Благодаря этому сотрудничеству юные зрители Подмосковья, Курской и Белгородской областей увидели спектакли Петербургского театра марионеток «Кукольный дом» и Новосибирского академического молодежного театра «Глобус».

Фото