The Igor Moiseyev State Academic Ensemble of Popular Dance

 

The Igor Moiseyev State Academic Ensemble of Popular Dance, also known as the Igor Moiseyev Ballet, was organised by the outstanding 20th century Soviet choreographer, Igor Moiseyev, in 1937. In 1940, the Ballet received its official rehearsal space in Moscow, in Triumfalnaya Square, at the famous P.I. Tchaikovsky Concert Hall, where the Academic Ensemble has been based ever since. In 1943, the Igor Moiseyev Ballet opened the first professional School-Studio of popular dance.

Since then, according to Igor Moiseyev himself: “The life of our ensemble has always been accompanied by very fortunate circumstances: we quickly gained recognition, which has stayed steady across the decades.” Over his lifetime, Igor Moiseyev created a substantial legacy of over 300 choreographic miniatures, including the famous Guerrillas, Gopak, Bulba, Gaucho, Summer, Aragon Jota, and others, which since then have entered the pantheon of world dance classics.

Since its earliest days, the Ballet has toured extensively. “My life is easier told as a travel guide, than as a narrative biography. Both with my group and on my own, I’ve visited over 50 countries around the world, many of them — more than a dozen times. Every year we would spend about 8 months touring, and most of it abroad. We were one of the first to achieve such resounding success.”

Igor Moiseyev passed away in 2007. However, his passing did not end the life of the Ensemble. Today, teachers and coaches, appointed by the master himself, continue training young performers. The masterpieces of Igor Moiseyev still captivate viewers. Moiseyev’s old students now teach a new generation at the Ensemble’s own School-Studio. Tickets to their concerts are very hard to obtain, and theatres are always packed. The Ballet continues to tour and receives many prestigious international awards.

In 2011, the Igor Moiseyev Ballet received the Grand Prix of the Anita Bucchi Professional Choreography Award (Italy) for Best Production.

During the Ballet’s Paris tour in 2011, its premier performance on December 20 was awarded the UNESCO Five Continents Medal.

The Art, Science and Sport Charity Foundation is a permanent partner of the Ensemble and regularly sponsors the Ensemble’s milestone events.

For example, one notable event on Russia’s cultural agenda was the 2006 gala concert in honour of Igor Moiseyev’s 100th birthday. The concerts, entitled Moiseyev — Man of the World, took place on January 25 and 26 at the State Kremlin Palace and were organised with substantial support from the Foundation.

In 2012 the Ensemble celebrated another anniversary. On February 10, 2012, the Igor Moiseyev State Academic Ensemble of Popular Dance turned 75. With the support of the Foundation, the Ensemble celebrated its Birthday with three concerts. On February 16 and 17 the Ballet performed at the Tchaikovsky Concert Hall together with the best popular dance groups. And on February 21 it gave a solo performance at the historic Bolshoi Theatre of Russia.

In 2013, the Foundation supported another important event in the history of the Ensemble: 70 years of its School-Studio. On November 27, 2013, a gala concert dedicated to the 70th anniversary of the School-Studio of the Igor Moiseyev Ensemble of Popular Dance was held in Moscow at the P.I. Tchaikovsky Grand Concert Hall. The concert involved all generations of Moiseyev’s students — both the School-Studio’s alumni and its current young talents.

In 2015 and 2016 the Foundation organised a tour of the Igor Moiseyev State Academic Ensemble of Popular Dance to cities of the Belgorod, Kursk and Orenburg regions.

Photo

Государственный академический ансамбль народного танца имени Игоря Моисеева

 

Государственный академический ансамбль народного танца был создан выдающимся хореографом ХХ столетия Игорем Александровичем Моисеевым в 1937 году. В 1940 году коллективу было выделено помещение на Триумфальной площади в Концертном зале им. П.И. Чайковского, где ансамбль располагается и поныне. В 1943 году при ансамбле была открыта первая в мире профессиональная школа народного танца.

С тех пор, по признанию Игоря Моисеева: «В жизни ансамбля было одно счастливое обстоятельство: мы быстро получили признание и на протяжении десятилетий не знали провалов». Сам Моисеев ставил одну хореографическую миниатюру за другой — около 300 его произведений, среди которых знаменитые «Партизаны», «Гопак», «Бульба», «Гаучо», «Лето», «Арагонская хота» и другие, вошли в золотой фонд мировой классики.

С первых дней своего существования ансамбль много гастролирует: «Из моей жизни легче составить путеводитель, чем биографию. Я побывал с ансамблем и самостоятельно в пятидесяти пяти странах мира. Во многих — более десяти раз. Восемь месяцев в году мы проводили на гастролях и большей частью — за рубежом. На нашу долю выпал первый и самый шумный успех».

В 2007 году Игорь Александрович Моисеев ушел из жизни. Однако с его уходом жизнь ансамбля не прервалась. Педагоги-репетиторы, выбранные самим мастером, готовят молодых исполнителей. Шедевры, созданные Игорем Моисеевым, по-прежнему покоряют зрителей. Ученики Моисеева преподают в школе ансамбля. На концерты сложно достать билеты, и они неизменно проходят при переполненных залах. Ансамбль продолжает много гастролировать и получает престижные международные награды.

За лучший спектакль 2011 года моисеевцы удостоены Гран-при профессиональной хореографической премии ANITA BUCСHI (Италия).

На премьерной программе 20 декабря 2011 года, в рамках парижских гастролей ансамбля, которые прошли с триумфом, ЮНЕСКО наградила Ансамбль Медалью пяти континентов.

Благотворительный фонд «Искусство, наука и спорт» является постоянным партнером Ансамбля, регулярно поддерживает важные в его истории мероприятия.

Громким событием культурной жизни России стал юбилейный гала-концерт в честь 100-летия со дня рождения Игоря Моисеева, организованный при поддержке Фонда. Концерт «Моисеев — человек мира» прошел 25 и 26 января 2006 года в Государственном кремлевском дворце.

В 2012 году ансамбль вновь отмечал юбилей. 10 февраля 2012 года Государственному академическому ансамблю народного танца имени Игоря Моисеева исполнилось 75 лет. При поддержке Благотворительного фонда «Искусство, наука и спорт» свой юбилей Ансамбль отметил тремя концертами: 16 и 17 февраля совместными выступлениями с лучшими коллективами народного танца в Концертном зале им. П.И.Чайковского и 21 февраля сольным концертом на исторической сцене Большого театра России.

В 2013 году Фонд поддержал еще одно важное событие в истории Ансамбля: 70 лет исполнилось его Школе-студии. 27 ноября 2013 года в Москве, в Большом концертном зале им. П.И. Чайковского, состоялся праздничный концерт по случаю 70-летнего юбилея Школы-студии при ГААНТ имени Игоря Моисеева. На сцену вышли все поколения моисеевцев — учащиеся и выпускники школы-студии.

В 2015 и 2016 году Фондом были организованы гастроли Государственного академического ансамбля народного танца имени Игоря Моисеева по городам Белгородской, Курской и Оренбургской областей.

Фото