Russia's Bid to Host the FIFA World Cup 2018/2022

 

In 2009, for the first time in its history, Russia submitted its candidacy to host the FIFA World Cup 2018/2022. A FIFA bid requires complex and labour-intensive preparation in putting together a ‘Bid Book’. Further work includes obtaining government guarantees. Also essential are extensive PR-campaigns with an international outreach as well as the county’s participation in major international sporting events.

The Art, Science and Sport Charity Foundation became a partner of Russia’s 2018/2022 FIFA Bid Committee.

“I believe that hosting the World Football Championship, a competition of this level, is extremely important for us, as it will enhance the prestige of the country, will give impetus to the development of football in Russia and, most importantly, help to attract more young people to the sport”, said the founder of the Art, Science and Sport Charity Foundation, Alisher Usmanov.

Vladimir Putin expressed his confidence that Russia “has a good chance in the fight for the right to host the World Cup.” In his words, “the very fact of hosting such a major event, no doubt, will be a good incentive for developing football.” Mr. Putin’s opinion was shared by FIFA’s President, Joseph Blatter: “Russia’s bid inspires me with the most sincere sympathy. If you continue your preparation with the same momentum, the same attitude, you stand a very good chance of winning.”

On 2 December 2010, in Zurich, FIFA announced the host countries for the next two World Cup championships. Russia was selected to host the 2018 FIFA World Cup; its bid was successful as early as the second round. The 2022 FIFA World Cup will be held in Qatar.

Заявка России на проведение Чемпионата мира по футболу-2018/2022

 

В 2009 году Россия впервые в своей истории представила свою кандидатуру на право проведения Чемпионата мира по футболу ФИФА-2018/2022. Выдвижение – это сложный и интенсивный процесс подготовки Заявочной книги страны-кандидата, получения правительственных гарантий, проведения международной PR-кампании, участия в крупнейших международных спортивных форумах.

Благотворительный фонд «Искусство, наука и спорт» стал партнером Заявочного комитета, осуществлявшего борьбу за право проведения Чемпионата мира ФИФА 2018/2022 гг. в России.

«Считаю, что для России важно принять Чемпионат мира – соревнования такого уровня укрепят престиж страны, дадут импульс развитию национального футбола и самое главное, помогут приобщить к спорту молодежь», – сказал основатель Благотворительного фонда «Искусство, наука и спорт» Алишер Усманов.

Владимир Путин выразил уверенность в том, что «у нашей страны есть неплохие шансы в борьбе за право провести чемпионат мира». По его словам, «сам факт проведения такого крупного мероприятия, без всяких сомнений, будет хорошим толчком в развитии футбола». Его мнение разделил и президент ФИФА Йозеф Блаттер: «Российская заявка вызывает у меня самую искреннюю симпатию. Если с таким же импульсом, таким же настроем вы будете продолжать подготовку и дальше, то шансы у вас – хорошие».

2 декабря 2010 года в Цюрихе были оглашены страны-хозяйки чемпионатов мира. Право на чемпионат мира 2018 года досталось России, причем ее заявка выиграла уже во втором туре. Чемпионат мира 2022 года пройдет в Катаре.