The Russian Fencing Federation

 

The Russian Fencing Federation (RFF) was formed in 1992. The RFF is recognised by the International Fencing Federation (FIE) and the Russian Olympic Committee (ROC) as the only organisation authorised to represent Russian fencing in all state bodies and public organisations in Russia, the international sports and Olympic movements, and has the authority to co-ordinate the development of fencing in the Russian Federation.

The Art, Science and Sport Charity Foundation is a long-term partner of the RFF and supports its activities.

The Foundation’s founder, entrepreneur and philanthropist Alisher Usmanov, is personally concerned with supporting the RFF. From 2001 to 2008 he served as the executive president of the RFF. In 2008, Alisher Usmanov took the post of the head of the International Fencing Federation (official French title: Federation Internationale d’Escrime). In December 2012, Mr. Usmanov was re-elected president of the International Fencing Federation for a second term, following a vote of the FIE Congress held in Moscow.

Under Mr. Usmanov’s leadership the RFF has celebrated many brilliant and well-deserved victories, thus giving the start of the 21st century the unofficial title of the “Russian era” in the history of World fencing. Across six World Championships and two Olympics since the start of the 21st century, the Russian fencing masters have won 22 gold medals, including repeating the record of the legendary USSR team by rising to the top of podium at the 2002 Lisbon World Championships six times. A year earlier in Moscow, in celebration of the 300th anniversary of fencing in Russia, the national fencing team defeated the World Team in a friendly match with a scoreline of 60:58. During the Athens 2004 Olympic Games, Russian athletes were on the podium or among the close runners-up in all weapon categories, and the Russian women’s épée team won the Olympic gold medal. Russian women’s sabre team won the World Championship in New York.

The Russian team of foil fencers headed by Svetlana Boyko won the team competition at the Summer Olympic Games 2008 in Beijing.

Russian fencers have proved their world-class status, having won the Nations Cup three times in a row. They were rewarded for their victories in the team events at the 2013 World Fencing Championship in Budapest, the 2014 Universiade in Kazan and the 2015 World Fencing Championship in Moscow. The “home” tournament, held at the Olympic Stadium in Moscow in the summer of 2015, was without doubt a triumph, on account of Russia winning 4 gold medals, 4 silver medals and 1 bronze medal.

The same high-level performance was repeated at the European Games in Baku with 1 gold, 5 silver and 3 bronze medals, and also at the World Summer Universiade in the Korean city of Gwangju with 1 gold, 6 silver, and 3 bronze medals.

Photo

Федерация фехтования России

 

Федерация фехтования России (ФФР) была образована в 1992 году. ФФР признана Международной федерацией фехтования (FIE) и Олимпийским комитетом России (ОКР) единственной организацией, обладающей правом представлять отечественное фехтование во всех государственных органах и общественных организациях России, международном спортивном и олимпийском движении, а также правом координировать развитие фехтования на территории Российской Федерации.

Благотворительный фонд «Искусство, наука и спорт» является партнером ФФР и оказывает поддержку ее деятельности.

Основатель Фонда, предприниматель и меценат Алишер Усманов лично принимает участие в поддержке деятельности ФФР. С 2001 по 2008 год он занимал пост президента ФФР и осуществлял руководство деятельностью Федерации. В 2008 году Алишер Усманов возглавил Международную федерацию фехтования (фр. Federation internationale d`escrime). По результатам голосования конгресса FIE, прошедшего в Москве в декабре 2012 года, Алишер Усманов был переизбран на должность президента Международной федерации фехтования на второй срок.

Под руководством Алишера Усманова ФФР одержала множество славных побед, что дало основание назвать начало ХХI века «российским» периодом в мировой фехтовальной истории. Российские мастера выиграли на шести чемпионатах мира и двух Олимпиадах ХХI века 22 золотые награды, и в том числе — повторили рекорд великой сборной СССР, шесть раз поднявшись на верхнюю ступень пьедестала почета на чемпионате мира в Лиссабоне в августе 2002 года. А годом раньше, в Москве, в рамках празднования 300-летия отечественного фехтования, сборная России одолела в товарищеском матче сборную мира — 60:58. Во время Олимпийских игр в Афинах в 2004-м году российские спортсмены оказались на пьедестале почета или рядом с ним во всех видах оружия, а женская сборная России по шпаге завоевала олимпийское золото. Российская женская сабельная команда завоевала первенство на чемпионате мира в Нью-Йорке.

Команда российских рапиристок во главе со Светланой Бойко стала победителем командного турнира на летних Олимпийских играх 2008 года в Пекине.

На чемпионатах мира 2013 года в Будапеште, 2014 года в Казани и 2015 года в Москве российские фехтовальщики подтвердили свой высокий класс, завоевав трижды подряд Кубок наций, которым награждается команда за победу в общекомандном зачете. Поистине триумфальным стал «домашний» турнир, прошедший летом 2015 года в спорткомплексе «Олимпийский»: на счету россиян 4 «золота», 4 «серебра» и 1 «бронза».

Высокий результат показали наши спортсмены на I Европейских играх в Баку: 1 золотая, 5 серебряных, 3 бронзовые награды, а также на Всемирной летней Универсиаде в корейском городе Кванджу: 1 золотая, 6 серебряных и 3 бронзовые медали.

Фото