Dynamo Moscow Water Polo Club

 

The history of Soviet water polo dates back to 1924. Back then, water polo was played across the USSR with teams representing various geographical regions (cities, regions and republics). Only in 1937 did championships between different club teams come about.

Dynamo Moscow were at the final of the first ever USSR’s Water Polo Championship in 1937. However, it was the Leningrad club, Elektrik, that took home the victors’ trophy.

The Moscow team reached its first major success in 1949, when they won the USSR Cup. The golden age of Dynamo Moscow came in the mid 50s. Dynamo were Soviet Champions six times in a row from 1955 to 1962. In the seasons of 1957-1962 the “blues and whites” did not lose a single game. Dynamo became the leader of Soviet water polo. As the backbone of the Soviet national water polo team, Dynamo Moscow players won the Olympic Games in 1956, 1960, 1964 and 1968, as well as bringing home numerous titles from the European and World championships.

The team saw a new turn of success in the mid 80s, under coach G.P. Chikvaniya and his assistant coach S.N. Nekrasov. The team became Champions three times in a row (1985-1987) winning the National Cup twice in a row, and in 1984 winning the Cup Winners’ Cup and the Super Cup. In the 80s, the top water polo players of Dynamo Moscow regularly played for the Soviet national team and became Olympic champions, won the World Championship and the World Cup, and an array of European championships.

From 1994-1996, under the management of L.D. Tishchenko, and in 1998 and 2000-2002 under M.A. Riysman, Dynamo achieved one high-profile victory after another in the Russian Championships.

Starting in 2013, Dynamo, the capital city’s team, at that time 18-times Soviet and Russian Champion, and one of the country’s most decorated teams, entered a new era of sporting success.

The Art, Science and Sport Charity Foundation has been a supporter of the Dynamo Moscow Water Polo Club.

Photo

Ватерпольный клуб «Динамо-Москва»

 

История водного поло в СССР началась в 1924 году. Всесоюзные турниры проводились между сборными городов, областей и республик. И только с 1937 года стали разыгрываться чемпионаты среди клубных команд.

В первом чемпионате СССР в 1937 году команда «Динамо» (Москва) вышла в финал, однако первым чемпионом СССР на этот раз стал ленинградский клуб «Электрик».

Первый крупный успех пришел к москвичам в 1949 году, когда команда завоевала Кубок СССР. Золотая пора московского «Динамо» наступила в середине 50-х годов. Шесть раз подряд (с 1955 по 1962 год) динамовцы брали чемпионские титулы. В сезонах 1957-1962 годов бело-голубые не проиграли ни одной встречи. За «Динамо» закрепился статус лидера отечественного водного поло. Составляя костяк сборной СССР, московские динамовцы становились призерами Олимпийских игр 1956, 1960, 1964 и 1968 годов, чемпионами и призерами первенств Европы и Мира.

Следующая волна успеха пришла к спортсменам в середине 80-х годов, когда тренером «Динамо» был Г. П. Чиквания и помогавший ему С.Н. Некрасов. Команда трижды подряд (1985-1987) становилась чемпионом, дважды подряд завоевывала Кубок страны, в 1984 году взяла Кубок обладателей Кубков и Суперкубка. Сильнейшие ватерполисты «Динамо» 80-х годов в составе сборной СССР стали чемпионами Олимпийских игр, победителями чемпионата и Кубка мира, чемпионами Европы.

В 1994-1996 годах динамовцы одну за другой одерживали громкие победы в первенстве России под руководством Л.Д. Тищенко, а в 1998, 2000-2002 годах — М.А. Рийсмана.

Начиная с 2013 года для столичного «Динамо», восемнадцатикратного чемпиона СССР и России, одного из самых титулованных клубов нашей страны, наступила новая эра побед.

Благотворительный фонд «Искусство, наука и спорт» оказал поддержку деятельности Ватерпольного клуба «Динамо» (Москва).

Фото